TestAS for refugees

is an assessment test that examines both the general and subject-related abilities for academic studies. It assists refugees in continuing or starting academic studies in Germany. Universities use TestAS individually or as part of uni-assist’s documentation-examination procedure for refugees. The test may be sat country-wide on specified testing dates. Universities may appoint special test dates for larger groups.

How TestAS for refugees will help you

You can increase your eligibility for the subject, demonstrate your academic interests to universities and increase your chances of being admitted to university. If documentation regarding the courses attended at university or school certificates are missing (i.e. lost while fleeing), then the test may be used as a plausibility check. The test is also used for admission to preparatory programmes. The TestAS for refugees can be taken once only and is free of charge for the test takers (for details please see “Test dates”).
Universities use TestAS individually for the admission to their preparatory programmes and for admission to academic studies. Upon request, g.a.s.t. will advise universities on how TestAS results can be used for admission. g.a.s.t. has been testing refugees with TestAS since September 2015.

For universities using uni-assist’s documentation examination service for refugees, TestAS for refugees is the prerequisite to manifest the genuine desire to study as well as the suitability for the course (alternatively, universities may issue a so-called “counseling certificate”).

Apply to uni-assist using TestAS

The evaluation of application documents of international students and refugees for admission to university is handled by the Arbeits- und Servicestelle für Internationale Studienbewerbungen uni-assist e. V. in Berlin on behalf of many universities. These applications are free of charge for refugees.
To apply for admission to a university, you need to do the following:

1. Sit the TestAS first
Look for a suitable test date [link at the bottom].
Please consider the registration deadlines for TestAS
Find a test centre nearby
Use the information available on this website
Have a document ready for upload confirming your status as a registered refugee.

2. You may then apply to uni-assist
Send your application [application form] for the free evaluation of your university admission credentials to uni-assist
attach a copy of the document ready for upload confirming your status as a registered refugee
attach a print-out of your TestAS certificate
All prerequisites for an application to uni-assist are available here or at the university of your choice.

Test structure

TestAS for refugees consists of a Core Test, which assesses the general ability to study and one out of four subject-specific modules. You can select a subject-specific module matching your planned course subject. The test may be sat in German, English and Arabic.
Overview: core test module and subject modules
TestAS

You can find further information for test takers here: Test-taker information English

TestAS is offered by the Society for Academic Study Preparation and Test Development (g.a.s.t.), a registered association. TestAS is developed by ITB Consulting GmbH. The worldwide organisation of TestAS is conducted by the TestDaF Institute, Bochum. TestAS is sponsored by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) with funds from the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

Preparation for the test

TestAS for refugees is not a knowledge based test, you cannot “learn by heart” to prepare for it. The test assesses your cognitive skills. It is therefore important that you familiarize yourself with the format of the tasks asked in the test. A comprehensive booklet with Sample Questions, explanations and solutions is available free of charge.

The English version can be found here.The Arabic version can be downloaded here: Sample_Questions_Arabic

Universities, testing centres and institutions may also order the Sample Questions from the TestDaF-Institute.

The Sample Questions describe all subtests in detail.

Test dates

Here you can find the dates for the TestAS for refugees. For registration, please visit the test-taker portal for the TestAS for refugees: Registration TestAS for refugees

 

on 21 January 2017
Registration from 1 November until 4 January

on 9 March 2017
Registration from 5 January until 21 February

on 8 April 2017
Registration from 22 February until 23 March

on 10 May 2017
Registration from 24 March until 25 April

on 24 June 2017
Registration from 26 April until 08 June

on 09 August 2017
Registration from 09 June until 24 July

on 02 September 2017
Registration from 25 July until 21 August

on 11 October 2017
Registration from 22 August until 26 September

on 28 November 2017
Registration from 28 September until 12 November

on 13 January 2018
Registration from 14 November until 28 December

Please note that the participating centres can vary between the test dates.

 

Important notes:

– The TestAS for refugees is free of charge and each participant can take the test only once. You cannot pay to participate in the TestAS for refugees. If you wish to repeat the exam you may register for the regular TestAS (test languages German or English): Test dates regular TestAS

– If you have registered for the test but do not show up your participation still counts. That is because a large part of the costs have already incurred.

– You can cancel your registration for the TestAS until the end of the registration period (send an email with your participant number to kontakt@testdaf.de). After that period we cannot guarantee your cancellation.

– The login data that you choose during registration only work for the test-taker portal for the TestAS for refugees (Test-taker portal TestAS for refugees). They cannot be used to log into the regular TestAS portal.

 

The following exceptions regarding the participation are valid

– In case you have taken the TestAS for refugees on May 19 2016, you are permitted to take the test a second (but no further) time in the test language Arabic (but not in German or English).

– In case you were registered for the TestAS for refugees on May 19 2016, June 25 2016 or July 28 2016 but you did not show up, you are permitted to register a second (but no further) time.

– In case you have taken the TestAS for refugees once already but you would like to take the test a second time with another subject-specific module, you are temporarily permitted to do so in the following case: In the first TestAS for refugees, you have reached a standard value of at least 100 (100 or higher) in the core test and a standard value of under 90 (89 or lower) in the subject-specific module.

TestAS examinations for universities and institutions

We also provide group testing at your institution – do not hesitate to contact us. Contact form.

Please keep in mind that for a test session at your location we need a lead time of at least four weeks in order to allow the testing session to go smoothly.

Results will be released after seven working days.

Who may sit TestAS for refugees

The TestAS for refugees is free of charge and can be taken only once per person. A no-show also counts as a participation (please see explanations under “Test dates”). The following persons are entitled to participate once:
– Individuals with a BÜMA/certificate of residence (notification of the claim for asylum prior to registration pursuant to § 63a AsylG)
– Asylum seekers (ongoing proceedings – residency permit pursuant to § 55 AslyVfG)
– Tolerated foreign nationals (temporary suspension of removal – tolerated pursuant to § 60a AufenthG)
– Individuals granted asylum pursuant to Art. 16A GG/GFK (residency permit pursuant to § 25 para. 1 AufenthG)
– Recognized refugees pursuant to § 3 AsylVfG (residency permit pursuant to §25 para. 2 p.1/1 AufenthG)
– Individuals granted subsidiary protection pursuant to §4 AsylVfG (residency permit pursuant to §25 para. 2 S.1/2. AufenthG)
– Persons protected from removal pursuant to §60 para. 5 and 7 AufenthG (residency permit pursuant to §25 para. 3 AufenthG)
– Persons with a residence permit in accordance with § 22 par. 1 and 2, §23 par. 1, 2 and 4, as well as § 24 and § 25 par. 5 AufenthG
– Family members (parents, children, spouses), who have joined recognised refugees or asylum seekers as defined under the Geneva Convention or those granted subsidiary protection, may also participate in the free review process if they can provide proof that the “principal” person (the first to be granted refugee status) has a residence permit.You will be asked for your status when registering for the test. You will then be able to sit the test free of charge. Please have photos or scanned residency documents ready; you will be asked to upload documents when registering.

The TestAS certificate

Your TestAS certificate will be available for download from your candidate portal approx. 2-4 weeks after the test.
The certificate presents the results in two scales:

– the percentile rank
– and the default value

The Standard Score is a transformation of the test score to a value between 70 and 130. The mean (average) is 100. The area between 90 and 110 describes the average performance. The standard score allows a direct comparison between all test modules and subtests.

The Percentile Rank describes the percentage of other test takers who have a test score that is lower or as good as a candidate’s score. A percentile rank of 60 means for instance: 60% of all test takers have a lower score or a score that is as good as the candidate. That means that 40% have reached a higher score. Universities can create a rank order with the percentile ranks of the current applications (to, for example, select the applicants with the 10 best percentile ranks).

Both scores always refer to the entire test-taker group (in all test centers and from all test dates).

Standard scores and percentile ranks are calculated for both the modules (e.g., the Core Test) and for the subtests. The standard score/percentile rank of a module does not always correspond to the average of the standard scores/percentile ranks of the single subtests.

Universities decide individually how they use the TestAS results. They can, for instance, define a minimum for the required standard score (e.g., 100) or give applicants with high scores a bonus. Please visit the universities’ webpages for further information.

Der TestAS für Flüchtlinge

ist ein Studierfähigkeitstest, der die allgemeine und fachliche Eignung zum Studium prüft. Er hilft Flüchtlingen, ein Studium in Deutschland aufzunehmen oder fortzusetzen. Hochschulen nutzen den TestAS individuell oder in Verbindung mit dem kostenlosen Prüfverfahren für Flüchtlinge von uni-assist. Der Test kann bundesweit zu festgelegten Prüfungsterminen abgelegt werden. Für größere Gruppen können Hochschulen Sondertermine durchführen.

Wie Ihnen der TestAS für Flüchtlinge hilft

Mit dem Test können Sie Ihre fachliche Eignung und Ihre Studieninteressen gegenüber den Hochschulen nachweisen, und Ihre Chancen auf einen Studienplatz verbessern. Bei fehlenden (fluchtbedingt verlorenen) Nachweisen über Schulabschlüsse oder ein Hochschulstudium kann der Test als Plausibilitätsprüfung eingesetzt werden und Grundlage für eine Zulassung sein. Der Test wird außerdem zur Aufnahme in studienvorbereitenden Programmen eingesetzt. Der TestAS für Flüchtlinge kann einmalig abgelegt werden und ist für die Teilnehmenden kostenlos (Details unter „Wann der Test abgelegt werden kann“).
Hochschulen nutzen den Test individuell für eigene Programme zur Studienvorbereitung und zur Zulassung. Auf Wunsch berät g.a.s.t. die Hochschulen, wie das TestAS-Ergebnis in den einzelnen Programmen eingesetzt und genutzt werden kann. g.a.s.t. testet seit September 2015 Flüchtlinge mit dem TestAS.
Bei Hochschulen, die für die Zulassung von Studierenden das Angebot von uni-assist nutzen, ist der TestAS für Flüchtlinge das erforderliche Kriterium, um die Ernsthaftigkeit der Studienabsicht und die fachliche Eignung nachzuweisen (alternativ können Hochschulen auch einen sogenannten „Beratungsschein“ ausstellen).

Mit dem TestAS bei uni-assist bewerben

Die Prüfung der Bewerbungsunterlagen für einen Studienplatz ausländischer Studierender und geflüchteten Menschen übernimmt für viele Hochschulen die Arbeits- und Servicestelle für internationale Studienbewerbungen uni-assist e.V. in Berlin. Auch diese Bewerbungen sind für Flüchtlinge kostenlos möglich.
Bei Ihrer Bewerbung für einen Studienplatz gehen Sie so vor:
1. Legen Sie zuerst den TestAS ab
Suchen Sie den passenden Termin.
Beachten Sie hierzu die Anmeldefristen für den TestAS
Finden Sie ein Testzentrum in Ihrer Nähe
Nutzen Sie die Informationen auf dieser Seite
Halten Sie bei der Anmeldung das Dokument bereit, das Ihren Aufenthaltsstatus in Deutschland bestätigt, das sie bei der Anmeldung hochladen müssen.

2. Bewerben Sie sich danach bei uni-assist
Senden Sie den Antrag Antragsformular auf Teilnahme an der kostenfreien Prüfung zur Feststellung der Hochschulzugangsberechtigung (HZB) an uni-assist
legen Sie die Kopie eines Dokuments bei, das Ihren Aufenthaltsstatus in Deutschland bestätigt
legen Sie den Ausdruck Ihres TestAS-Zertifikats bei
Alle Voraussetzungen für eine Bewerbung bei uni-assist erhalten Sie hier oder bei der Hochschule, an der Sie studieren wollen.

Der Aufbau des Tests

Der TestAS für Flüchtlinge besteht aus dem Kerntest, der die allgemeine Studieneignung prüft und einem von vier Fachmodulen. Sie wählen das Fachmodul passend zu Ihrem geplanten Studienfach. Der Test kann auf Deutsch, Englisch und Arabisch abgelegt werden.
Kerntest und Fachmodule im Überblick
TestAS

Der TestAS ist ein Angebot der Gesellschaft für Akademische Studienvorbereitung und Testentwicklung e. V. (g.a.s.t.). Der TestAS wird entwickelt von der ITB Consulting GmbH. Die weltweite Organisation des TestAS liegt beim TestDaF-Institut, Bochum. Der TestAS wird vom Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) aus Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert.

Weitere Informationen für Teilnehmer finden Sie hier: TestAS-Broschüre Deutsch

Vorbereitung auf den Test

Der TestAS für Flüchtlinge ist kein Wissenstest, d. h. Sie können zur Vorbereitung nichts „auswendig lernen“. Der Test prüft Ihre kognitiven Fähigkeiten. Dazu ist es wichtig, dass Sie sich mit den Aufgabenformaten des Tests vertraut machen. Hierfür steht Ihnen ein umfangreiches Heft mit Modellaufgaben, Erklärungen und Lösungswegen kostenlos zur Verfügung.
Das Heft in den Sprachen Deutsch und Englisch finden Sie hier. Die arabische Version können Sie hier herunterladen: Modellaufgabenheft_Arabisch

Hochschulen, Testzentren und Institutionen können das Modellaufgabenheft auch beim TestDaF-Institut bestellen.
Im Modellaufgabenheft sind alle Aufgabengruppen ausführlich beschrieben.

Wann der Test abgelegt werden kann

Hier finden Sie die TestAS-Prüfungen für Flüchtlinge. Die Anmeldung erfolgt über das TestAS-für-Flüchtlinge-Teilnehmerportal: Anmeldung TestAS für Flüchtlinge

am 25. Juni 2016
Anmeldung vom 18. Mai bis 12. Juni

am 28. Juli 2016
Anmeldung vom 24. Juni bis 10. Juli

am 03. September 2016
Anmeldung vom 18. Juli bis 15. August

am 06. Oktober 2016
Anmeldung vom 18. August bis 18. September

am 19. November 2016
Anmeldung vom 20. September bis 30. Oktober

am 21. Januar 2017
Anmeldung vom 01. November bis 4. Januar

am 09. März 2017
Anmeldung vom 5. Januar bis 21. Februar

 

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die teilnehmenden Testzentren zu den verschiedenen Terminen variieren können.

 

Wichtige Hinweise:

– Der kostenlose TestAS für Flüchtlinge kann nur einmalig abgelegt werden. Eine Teilnahme am TestAS für Flüchtlinge mit Bezahlung ist nicht möglich. Wenn Sie eine weitere Teilnahme wünschen, können Sie sich kostenpflichtig für einen regulären TestAS-Termin anmelden (Testsprachen Deutsch und Englisch): Testtermine regulärer TestAS

– Wenn Sie zum Test angemeldet sind, aber nicht erscheinen, gilt dies trotzdem als Testteilnahme, da ein großer Teil der Kosten bereits entstanden ist.

– Sie können sich jeweils bis zum Ende der Anmeldephase wieder von einer Prüfung abmelden (E-Mail mit Teilnehmernummer an: kontakt@testdaf.de). Nach diesem Zeitpunkt können wir eine Abmeldung nicht mehr garantieren.

– Die Zugangsdaten, die Sie bei der Anmeldung festlegen, funktionieren nur für das TestAS-für-Flüchtlinge-Teilnehmerportal (Teilnehmerportal TestAS für Flüchtlinge ). Sie können sich damit nicht im regulären TestAS-Teilnehmerportal anmelden.

 

Folgende Sonderregelungen zur Teilnahme gelten

– Sollten Sie den TestAS für Flüchtlinge am 19. Mai 2016 abgelegt haben, sind Sie zu einer zweiten (aber keiner weiteren) Teilnahme in der Testsprache Arabisch (nicht aber Deutsch oder Englisch) berechtigt.

– Sollten Sie für den TestAS für Flüchtlinge am 19. Mai 2016, 25. Juni 2016 oder 28. Juli 2016 angemeldet gewesen, aber nicht erschienen sein, sind Sie zu einer zweiten (aber keiner weiteren) Anmeldung berechtigt.

– Wenn Sie den TestAS für Flüchtlinge bereits einmal abgelegt haben und ihn ein zweites Mal, aber mit einem anderen Fachmodul ablegen möchten, ist dies vorläufig in folgendem Fall gestattet: Sie haben im ersten TestAS für Flüchtlinge im Kerntest einen Standardwert von mindestens 100 erreicht (100 oder höher) und Sie haben im Fachmodul einen Standardwert von weniger als 90 erreicht (89 oder niedriger).

TestAS-Termine für Hochschulen und Institutionen

Gerne testen wir Gruppen an Ihrem Standort – kontaktieren Sie uns. Kontaktformular

Bitte beachten Sie, dass wir für die optimale Durchführung eines TestAS-Termins an Ihrem Standort mindestens vier Wochen Vorlaufzeit benötigen.
Für die Ergebnisrückmeldung brauchen wir weitere sieben Werktage.

Wer den TestAS für Flüchtlinge ablegen kann

Der TestAS für Flüchtlinge ist kostenlos und kann pro Person nur einmal abgelegt werden. Ein Nicht-Erscheinen gilt hierbei auch als Teilnahme (siehe Hinweise unter „Wann der Test abgelegt werden kann“). Zur einmaligen Teilnahme berechtigt sind
– Personen mit BÜMA/Ankunftsnachweis (Meldung des Asylgesuchs vor Antragstellung gem. §63a AsylG)
– Asylbewerber*innen (Laufendes Verfahren – Aufenthaltsgestattung gem. §55 AsylVfG)
– Geduldete (Vorübergehende Aussetzung der Abschiebung – Duldung gem. §60a AufenthG)
– Asylberechtigte gem. Art. 16a GG/GFK (Aufenthalt gem. §25 Abs. 1 AufenthG)
– Anerkannte Flüchtlinge gem. § 3 AsylVfG (Aufenthalt gem. §25 Abs.2 S.1/1. AufenthG)
– Subsidiär Schutzberechtigte gem. § 4 AsylVfG (Aufenthalt gem. §25 Abs.2 S.1/2. AufenthG)
– Personen mit Abschiebeschutz gem. § 60 Abs. 5 und 7 AufenthG (Aufenthalt gem. §25 Abs.3 AufenthG)
– Personen mit Aufenthalt gem. § 22 Sätze 1 und 2, §23 Absätze 1 und 2, § 24 und § 25 Absatz 5 AufenthG
– Nachgezogene Familienangehörige (Eltern, Kinder, Ehegatten) von anerkannten Asylberechtigten, Flüchtlingen nach der Genfer Konvention und subsidiär Schutzberechtigten haben Zugang zum kostenfreien Verfahren, wenn sie zusätzlich den Aufenthaltstitel des Stammberechtigten (des zuerst eingereisten Familienmitglieds) nachweisen können.

Wenn Sie sich für den Test registrieren, weisen Sie Ihren Status nach. Dann können Sie den Test kostenfrei ablegen. Halten Sie hierfür Fotos oder Scans Ihrer Aufenthaltspapiere bereit; bei der Anmeldung werden Sie aufgefordert ein Dokument hochzuladen.

Das TestAS-Zertifikat

Das TestAS-Zertifikat steht Ihnen ca. 2-4 Wochen nach der Prüfung in Ihrem Teilnehmerportal zum Download zur Verfügung.
Das Zertifikat weist die Ergebnisse auf zwei Skalen aus,

– dem Prozentrang
– und dem Standardwert

Der Standardwert ist eine Umrechnung der Punktzahl zu einem Wert zwischen 70 und 130. Der Mittelwert (Durchschnitt) ist 100. Der Bereich zwischen 90 und 110 beschreibt eine durchschnittliche Leistung. Mit dem Standardwert kann man Ergebnisse zwischen allen Testmodulen und Aufgabengruppen vergleichen.

Der Prozentrang gibt an, wie viel Prozent der anderen Teilnehmenden ein niedrigeres oder gleich gutes Ergebnis bekommen haben. Ein Prozentrang von 60 heißt zum Beispiel: 60% aller Teilnehmenden haben eine niedrigere oder gleich hohe Punktzahl erreicht. Das heißt also, dass 40% eine höhere Punktzahl erreich haben. Eine Hochschule kann mit dem Prozentrang aller aktuellen Bewerber eine Rangreihe bilden (z.B. die Bewerber mit den besten 10 Prozenträngen auswählen).

Beide Werte beziehen sich immer auf alle Teilnehmenden (in allen Testzentren und zu jedem Testtermin).

Standardwerte und Prozentränge werden für die Module (z.B. dem Kerntest) und auch für die einzelnen Aufgabengruppen errechnet. Der Standardwert/der Prozentrang eines Modul-Ergebnisses entspricht nicht immer dem Durchschnitt der Standardwerte/der Prozentränge in den einzelnen Aufgabengruppen.

Hochschulen entscheiden individuell, wie Sie die TestAS-Ergebnisse nutzen. Sie können zum Beispiel einen minimalen geforderten Standardwert definieren (z.B. 100) oder Bewerberinnen und Bewerbern mit hohen Werten einen Bonus geben. Bitte informieren Sie sich direkt über die Webseiten der Hochschulen.